Stroke Management

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from his books, DVDs, and speaking go to charity).

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

DESCRIPTION: A randomized controlled trial found that a Mediterranean-type diet can dramatically lower the risk of subsequent heart attacks. How does it compare with plant-based diet data?

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

This is the second of a 6-part video series on the Mediterranean diet. For some historical backdrop, check out out the first one at Why Was Heart Disease Rare in the Mediterranean? ( ) Here’s the next four to come:
3. PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?
4. Which Parts of the Mediterranean Diet Extended Life? ( )
5. Do Flexitarians Live Longer? ( )
6. Improving on the Mediterranean Diet ( )

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

For more on Dr. Esselstyn’s amazing work:
• Heart Disease Starts in Childhood ( )
• Fully Consensual Heart Disease Treatment ( )
• Evidence-Based Medicine or Evidence-Biased? ( )
• Kempner Rice Diet: Whipping Us Into Shape ( )

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

If the short-chain plant-based omega-3s in flax seeds and walnuts appear so beneficial, what about the long-chain omega-3’s found in fish and fish oil? There are pros and cons. See, for example, Mercury vs. Omega-3s for Brain Development ( ) and Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? ( )

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at and he'll try to answer it!

• Facebook:
• Twitter:
• Podcast:
• Subscribe:
• Donate:

PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at http://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free excerpt from his latest NYT Bestseller HOW NOT TO DIE. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from his books, DVDs, and speaking go to charity).

DESCRIPTION: A randomized controlled trial found that a Mediterranean-type diet can dramatically lower the risk of subsequent heart attacks. How does it compare with plant-based diet data?

This is the second of a 6-part video series on the Mediterranean diet. For some historical backdrop, check out out the first one at Why Was Heart Disease Rare in the Mediterranean? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Why-Was-Heart-Disease-Rare-in-the-Mediterranean) Here’s the next four to come:
3. PREDIMED: Does Eating Nuts Prevent Strokes?
4. Which Parts of the Mediterranean Diet Extended Life? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-parts-of-the-mediterranean-diet-extended-life)
5. Do Flexitarians Live Longer? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-flexitarians-live-longer)
6. Improving on the Mediterranean Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/improving-on-the-mediterranean-diet)

For more on Dr. Esselstyn’s amazing work:
• Heart Disease Starts in Childhood (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/heart-disease-starts-in-childhood/)
• Fully Consensual Heart Disease Treatment (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fully-consensual-heart-disease-treatment/)
• Evidence-Based Medicine or Evidence-Biased? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/evidence-based-medicine-or-evidence-biased/)
• Kempner Rice Diet: Whipping Us Into Shape (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kempner-rice-diet-whipping-us-into-shape/)

If the short-chain plant-based omega-3s in flax seeds and walnuts appear so beneficial, what about the long-chain omega-3’s found in fish and fish oil? There are pros and cons. See, for example, Mercury vs. Omega-3s for Brain Development (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/mercury-vs-omega-3s-for-brain-development/) and Is Fish Oil Just Snake Oil? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-fish-oil-just-snake-oil/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/predimed-does-eating-nuts-prevent-strokes and he'll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://www.bit.ly/NFpodcast
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

7 Comments

  1. Your videos for some reason are not coming out in order which makes it
    harder for people to see if a new video came out. I have realized this and
    learned to account for it, but others probably haven’t and i think its
    hurting the view count.

    Content is great as always!

  2. This is really confusing when you hear people like Ornish, Esselstyn, and
    McDougall tell you over and over and over again: “NO nuts —- no OIL
    —-NO—-NO—-NO oil or nuts. NO..
    PERIOD !

Comments are closed.

Ancient All-Natural Chinese Secrets Shrink Prostate FAST!

" Discover How These Chinese Herbs Solved My Sexual & Prostate Problems Without Flomax, Viagra Or Any Other Drugs Within 14 Days! "

Stroke Management. Self-Care ( Part 1)

Click Here To Learn More!